TT announces World Cup Squad

Port of Spain – Coach of the national team for the 2006 World Cup, Leo Beenhakker, named a 24-man squad of three goalkeepers, seven defenders, six midfielders and eight forwards to represent Trinidad and Tobago in Germany.

The 24 are: Goalkeepers – Kelvin Jack, Shaka Hislop and Clayton Ince. Defenders – Cyd Gray, Marvin Andrews, Brent Sancho, Ian Cox, Atiba Charles, Dennis Lawrence and Avery John.

Midfielders – Silvio span, Chris Birchall, Autis Whitley, Anthony Rougier, Anthony Wolfe and Densil Theobald.

Forwards – Carlos Edwards, Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Colin Samuel, Jason Scotland and Cornell Glen.

At a press conference on April 12, at Crowne Plaza, Port of Spain, Beenhakker said he also asked Anthony Warner, Nigel Henry, Ricky Shakes, Hector Sam, Scott Sealy, Anton Pierre and Brent Rahim to standby in case they were needed.
Trinidad and Tobago qualified for the World Cup after beating Bahrain 1-0 in October last year. Government will provide about $45 million for the team’s preparation.

The full team is due home on May 7 and will train on May 8 and 9 for an international friendly against Peru at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Wednesday May 10. The following day the players and technical staff will go on a cross-country tour starting in Tobago.

This is the first time the team will be home since coming up against Bahrain in the qualifying round in October.

After an overnight stay in Tobago, they will return to Trinidad to visit Chaguanas, San Fernando, Penal/Debe, Princes Town, Rio Claro and Port-of-Spain. TTFF officials have confirmed that the team will spend no more than 35 minutes at each venue.

On the night of May 12, the team will attend the Soca Warriors Farewell Dinner. President George Maxwell Richards is expected to attend the function. The team will then leave for London on May 13 for a training camp.

The Soca Warriors begin their World Cup campaign against Sweden on June 10. They will clash with England five days later and with Paraguay on June 20.

Related Articles

Back to top button