Prime Minister Douglas re-elected National Political Leader of the St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party for 20th consecutive year

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas was Sunday re-elected unopposed for the 20th consecutive year as National Political Leader of the governing St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party.

Delegates to the Labour Party’s 76th Annual Conference at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort and Royal Beach Casino also re-elected un-opposed Deputy Prime Minister Hon. Sam Condor as Deputy National Leader; Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Trade and Consumer Affairs, Dr. the Hon. Timothy Harris as National Chairman and Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance, Sustainable Development, Information and Technology, Sen. the Hon. Nigel Carty as National Vice Chairman.

Also re-elected were National Secretary Ms. Wanda Connor and National Assistant Secretary, Mr. Joseph O’Flaherty. Mr. Kirt Lewis returns to the National Executive as Treasurer, a post he held previously and relinquished to pursue studies in Trinidad. He replaced Mr. Antonio Maynard who withdrew.

The only voting that took place was to elected three members to sit on the National Executive. Re-elected were Mr. Kirth Charles, who received 120 votes;

Mrs. Eugenie Condor, 111 votes and Mrs. Hazel Ross-Robinson, 109 votes from a field of six nominations.

Other members of the National Executive representing the constituencies in St. Kitts are Mr. Rudolph Morton (Constituency #2); Mr. Jason Hamilton (Constituency # 3); Mr. Cuthbert Caines (Constituency # 4); Mr. George Dixon (Constituency #5); Miss Ruby Taylor (Constituency # 6) and Mr. Lenworth Harris (Constituency #7).

Constituencies 1 and 8 along with Young Labour and Labour Women are to select their representatives later.

Related Articles

Back to top button