Excitement builds as IRAWMA ‘Text to Vote’ campaign kicks off

Port Of Spain, Trinidad – As the online voting period for nominees in the 30th anniversary of the International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) has come to an end, telecommunications network Bmobile has continued the voting frenzy by introducing a ‘Text to Vote’ promotion for 7 special IRAWMA categories.

The 2 week promotion goes from Wednesday 11th May 2011 at 8:00am to Wednesday 25th May 2011 at 11:59pm and gives local, regional and international music fans the opportunity to vote for their choice in 2010’s top Caribbean artistes and bands via texting particular keywords to specific numbers.

These categories and their respective keywords are as follows:

1. Best Male Calypso/Soca Entertainer
Machel Montano – MM
JW and Blaze – JWB
Kes Diffenthaler – KES
Shurwayne Winchester – SWIN
Skinny Fabulous (St. Vincent) – SFAB
Blaax – BLX

2. Best Female Calypso/Soca Entertainer
Allison Hinds – AH
Calypso Rose – CR
Patrice Roberts – PR
Faye-Ann Lyons-Alvarez – FAY
Destra – DG
Denise Belfon – DB

3. Best Caribbean Entertainer
Sly and Robbie (Jamaica) – SLYR
Machel Montano (Trinidad & Tobago) – MMHD
Third World (Jamaica) – TW
Damien Marley – DM
Shaggy – SHA

4. Best Chutney Entertainer
Rikki Jai – JAI
Soca Elvis – ELV
Moses Charles – MOS
Ravi B and Karma – RAVI
Hunter – HTR
Heeralal Rampartap – HRA

5. Best Pan Side
LH Pan Groove (Single pan band) LH
Neal & Massy Trinidad All Stars ALL
PCS Silver Stars PCS
Arima Golden Symphony AGS
Catzenjammers (Tobago) CATZ

6. Best Chutney Band:
Dil-E-Nadan DEN
JMC 3veni JMC
Karma KAR
Mellobugz MEL
T&TEC Gayatones TTEC

7. Best Soca Band:
Roy Cape & Kaiso All Stars ROY
Bunji & Asylum Band ASY
KES The Band KEB
Shurwayne Winchester & Y.O.U SHUR
Imij & Company IMIJ
HD Family HDF

Fans from Trinidad & Tobago and the Caribbean can text their votes to 7622 while North American fans (US and Canada) can text-vote to 78247.

The IRAWMA is set to be an evening of fantastic music, scintillating performances and will feature a fine collection of global music industry professionals gathering in camaraderie and mutual respect.

This evening of stars and celebration takes place on May 28th 2011 at the National Academy for Performing Arts in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

Related Articles

Back to top button