Local News

Jamaica’s Prime Minister announces cabinet changes

KINGSTON, Jamaica – The Prime Minister of Jamaica, the Hon. Bruce Golding, has announced the following changes to the Cabinet:

Senator the Hon. Dwight Nelson
Minister of National Security

Hon. James Robertson, M.P.
Minister of Energy and Mining

Hon. Olivia Grange, M.P.
Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture

Hon. Daryl Vaz M.P.
Minister without Portfolio
(Office of the Prime Minister)

The subjects of Information and Telecommunications which, hitherto, were part of the former Ministries of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports and Mining and Telecommunications, respectively, have been transferred to the Office of the Prime Minister and will be directly overseen by the Hon. Daryl Vaz who will continue to have responsibility for special projects within the Office of the Prime Minister.

Watch Newscast

The Prime Minister has conveyed his appreciation to Mr. Derrick Smith, Mr. Clive Mullings and Colonel Trevor MacMillan, who have tendered their resignations, for their services to the Government and nation, as former members of the Cabinet.

Senator the Hon. Don Wheby will demit office as Minister without Portfolio at the end of July. Senator Wheby had given the Prime Minister a commitment to serve in government for two years. He will be assuming a senior position within the Grace Kennedy Group of Companies with which he has had a long association. His services will, however, continue to be available to the government in an advisory capacity and for such assignments as are compatible with his private sector status.

The Hon. Andrew Holness, Minister of Education, has been appointed Leader of the House of Representatives.

The Ministry of Agriculture has been re-designated the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

The full Cabinet, as newly constituted, will be as follows:

Hon. Bruce Golding
Prime Minister (Defence, Planning and Development, Information and Telecommunications)

Dr. the Hon. Kenneth Baugh
Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

Hon. Audley Shaw
Minister of Finance and the Public Service

Senator the Hon. Dorothy Lighbourne
Attorney General and Minster of Justice

Hon. Karl Samuda
Minister of Industry, Investment and Commerce

Senator the Hon. Dwight Nelson
Minister of National Security

Hon. Andrew Holness
Minister of Education, Leader of the House and Minister with responsibility for Election Matters

Dr. the Hon. Horace Chang
Minister of Water and Housing

Hon. Olivia Grange
Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture

Hon. Rudyard Spencer
Minister of Health

Hon. Pearnel Charles
Minister of Labour and Social Security

Dr. the Hon. Christopher Tufton Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries

Hon. Edmund Bartlett
Minister of Tourism

Hon. Michael Henry
Minister of Transport and Works

Hon. James Robertson
Minister of Mining and Energy

Hon. Don Wehby Minister without Portfolio (Ministry of Finance and the Public Service)

Hon. Daryl Vaz Minister without Portfolio (Office of the Prime Minister)

The above changes take effect on April 6th 2009.

Related Articles

Back to top button