Eastern Caribbean States Legends Of Music Concert Kicks Off 2006 Annual Caribbean Week Celebrations In New York City

NEW YORK, NY – Members of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) will kick off Caribbean Week 2006 in New York on June 10th, 2006 with a concert to recognize the achievements and contributions of the Eastern Caribbean’s music legends in the development of Cultural Tourism.

This is a part of the 25th anniversary celebrations of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) established June 18, 1981.

The main event will include musical performances by music legends whose contributions have helped to promote the Eastern Caribbean region including Arrow of Montserrat, King Short Shirt of Antigua & Barbuda, Beckett of St.Vincent and the Grenadines, Bankie Banks of Anguilla and Elli Matt of St. Kitts and Nevis. The event will also feature special guest appearances by Nu Vybes of St. Kitts, Byke & Sparkey of Antigua, Super P of Grenada and Kulcha Don of Montserrat.

The concert will be preceded by a cocktail reception for the media, members of Government from the OECS and other Caribbean countries and NYC officials. The event will feature chefs from the OECS and guests will experience some of the Eastern Caribbean’s culinary talents and a display of tourism attractions by each of the participating countries. This historic event will be held at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center located at 199 Chambers Street, NYC.

According to Harold Lovell Minister of Tourism for Antigua and Barbuda “OECS Music Legends Concert”, serves as a platform for recognizing the outstanding contribution of our music legends in providing entertainment in the development of cultural tourism in the Caribbean.

Caribbean music has historically been a powerful medium cutting across cultural, geographic, racial, age and class barriers, uniting people and attracting the attention of the world through cultural tourism and international music festivals.

The OECS comprises the countries of Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, British Virgin Islands, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

Related Articles

Back to top button