Captain Barrington Irving among 107 Jamaicans to be Honored for contribution to Nation Building

KINGSTON, Jamaica – (JIS) – A total of 107 Jamaicans will be recognized for their contribution to nation building at the National Honours and Awards Ceremony to be held on National Heroes Day, Monday, October 15.

Governor-General, His Excellency the Most Hon. Professor Kenneth Hall, will present the awards at the function, which will be held on the lawns of King’s House commencing at 8:30 a.m.

Seven persons will receive the Order of Jamaica (OJ). The recipients are:

Rev. Herro Blair, for outstanding service to religion and public service;

Steve Bucknor, for outstanding service in the field of sports;

William ‘Bill’ Clarke, for sterling contribution to banking and public service;

Professor Edwin Jones, for excellence in academia and public service;

Keble Munn, for sterling contribution to agriculture;

Dorothy Pine-McCarthy and Adrian Strachan, for outstanding public service.

In addition, 40 persons will receive the Order of Distinction in the rank of commander (CD). These include Lambert Brown, for service to the trade union movement; Orville ‘Shaggy’ Burrell, for contribution to the music industry locally and overseas; Dr. Barbara Carby, for dedicated service in the field of disaster management and Captain Barrington Irving, for pioneering work in aviation.

Molly Rhone, will also be conferred with the award for contribution to sports administration locally and internationally; Lorna Josephine Bell for contribution to sports, especially the Special Olympics; Clement Seymour ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd and Arthur Stanley ‘Duke’ Reid, both for their contribution to the music industry.
Another 35 persons will be conferred with the Order of Distinction in the rank of Officer (OD). Some of the recipients are: Dr. Wendel Abel, Edith Allwood Anderson, Ewart ‘U-Roy’ Beckford, Trevor Simpson, and Winston ‘Burning Spear’ Rodney.

With respect to the Badge of Honour for Gallantry (BHG), seven persons will be recognized, including eight-year old Don-Christopher Barnes, who saved his friend from drowning. The others are Lusson Bartley, Annette Wong-Lee, Daniel Dawkins, Leston Simpson, Mark Wilson and Joel Davidson.

Eleven persons will receive the Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service (BHM), while seven persons will receive the Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service (BHL) in areas such as community development, community service, education, nursing, dentistry and the public service.

As the nation pauses to honour these outstanding Jamaicans on Heroes Day, the public is invited to attend the function and should be seated by 8:00 a.m.

Related Articles

Back to top button