Local News

113 outstanding Jamaicans to receive National Awards

KINGSTON – Five outstanding Jamaicans head the list of 113 persons to receive National Honours and Awards, as released by the Office of the Prime Minister. The awards will be conferred on the recipients on National Heroes Day, October 16.

The five recipients of the Order of Jamaica (OJ), the nation’s fourth highest honour, are: Dr. Rae Davis, CD, for his contribution to Education; Ray Hadeed, CD, for pioneering service to Manufacturing; Beverley Lopez, CD, for Private Sector Leadership; Neville ‘Teddy’ McCook, CD, for service to Sports, in particular to Athletics; and Professor Owen Morgan, CD, for distinguished contribution to Medicine and Medical Education in Jamaica and Internationally.

Thirty one Jamaicans will be conferred with the Order of Distinction in the rank of Commander (CD). Among them are: Keith ‘Bob Andy’ Anderson, for sterling contribution to the development of Reggae Music; Dr. Kenrick Barrow, for outstanding services to Medicine and Medical Education; Kenneth Benjamin, for contribution to Business and Entrepreneurship; Asley ‘Grub’ Cooper, OD, for his contribution to Music; Bishop Charles Dufour, for sterling service in the fields of Religion and Social Development, and Dr. William Foster, for outstanding voluntary service to Jamaican children in the field of Open Heart Surgery.

Other recipients of the Order of Distinction in the rank of Commander are: Newton James, for outstanding contribution to Broadcasting; Dr. Pauline Knight, for outstanding contribution in the field of Social Policy Development; Lenbert Little-White, for outstanding contribution in the fields of Communication and the Film industry; Pamela McLean, for her sterling contribution to the Export industry; Dr. Blossom O’Meally-Nelson, for outstanding Public Service; Mr. Justice Seymour Panton, for outstanding service to the Judiciary; Kent Pantry, for outstanding service to the Legal Profession; Dahlia Repole, for dedicated service to Education; Dr. Cezley Sampson, for outstanding Public Service; Lucius Thomas, for contribution to Nation Building and Public Safety; Rosemarie Vernon for sterling contribution to Education at all levels in Jamaica; and Dr. Barrington Wint, for outstanding contribution to Medicine in the field of Public Health.

The late Ferdinand Adolphus Buxton-Thompson will be awarded the CD posthumously, for his sterling contribution to the development of Education in Jamaica.

Forty three Jamaicans have been awarded the Order of Distinction in the rank of Officer (OD). Among them are: Wesley Barrett, for distinguished service to Education; Steven Francis, for service to Athletics; Boris Gardener, for long and dedicated service in the Music industry; Daphne Holmes, for service to Local Government; Lloyd ‘King Jammy’ James, for sterling contribution to the Music industry; Colonel Lemuel Lindo, for service to Youth Development through the Jamaica Combined Cadet Force, and Vilma McDonald, for outstanding Public Service and Voluntary Service in the field of sports.

Other persons to receive the OD include, Neville Myton, for outstanding contribution to the Development of Sports in Jamaica; Renford Pinnock, for exceptional contribution to the development of Sports in Jamaica, especially Cricket; Clement Radcliffe, for outstanding service to Education, Sports and Culture, and Glenroy ‘Ernie’ Smith, for outstanding contribution to Music and Jamaica’s Cultural Development.

Three persons have been awarded the Badge of Honour for Gallantry. They are: Harold Bailey, for heroism far beyond the call of duty, swimming out to a crashed plane on the ocean side of the Palisadoes peninsula, rescuing and bringing to shore the sole survivor of the crash on Friday, April 10, 1953; Marcia Sutherland-Bailey, for disarming a gunman who broke into her house and attacked her and her children; and Daliah Dumont for rescuing her two children from a burning house, but received multiple burns to her face, hands and other parts of her body.

Ten persons are to be awarded the Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service. Among them are: Paul Davis, for loyal service to the St. John Ambulance Brigade; Krishna Deonarine, for his commitment to the development of Indian music in Jamaica; and Estella Grant, for outstanding contribution to the development of the Falmouth Hospital and Infirmary.

The Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service has been awarded to 21 persons, including Daphne Afflick, for dedicated and unselfish contribution to the Health Service; Lester Brown, for over 50 years of dedicated Community Service; Joscelyn Chambers, for dedicated service to the Boys Brigade; Rueben Davy, for dedicated and distinguished service in the field of Education; Ira Douglas, for Community Service; Cutel Gooden, for contribution to Community Development; Enid Louise King, for dedicated service to Senior Citizens; Thelma Malcolm, for Public Service; Julian Robinson, for services rendered to Youth Clubs; Mavis Simpson-Richards, for long, faithful and dedicated service to Local Government; and Millicent Thomas-Castle, for service to Nursing.

Related Articles

Back to top button