Local News

Notable Leaders to be honored at American Foundation for the University of the West Indies (AFUWI) 13th Annual Fundraising Gala

NEW YORK – Air Jamaica, four Caribbean Prime Ministers – Hon. David J.H Thompson, QC, Barbados; Dr. Dean O. Barrow, Belize; Hon. Tillman J. Thomas, Grenada; Dr. The Hon. Patrick A.M. Manning, The Republic of Trinidad & Tobago and Director and Producer Spike Lee are among the list of honorees for the 13th Annual Fundraising Gala of the American Foundation for the University of the West Indies (AFUWI) to be held on Thursday, January 28, 2010 at the Pierre in New York City at 6:30 pm. Harry Belafonte will again serve as Honorary Patron.

Caribbean Prime Ministers

Hon. David J.H Thompson

Dr. The Hon. Patrick Manning

Dr. Dean O. Barrow

Hon. Tillman J. Thomas

The Annual Gala is the AFUWI’s premier fundraising event in the United States at which the prestigious Legacy Awards are conferred on notable individuals who represent high levels of achievement within their respective fields of industry and enterprise. There are four award categories: Caribbean Luminary, The Vice Chancellor’s Achievement Award, The University of the West Indies Bob Marley Award and The Legacy Awards.

Spike Lee

This year’s recipient of the University of the West Indies Bob Marley Award is Emmy Award winner Spike Lee. This honor is granted to individuals whose contribution to the advancement of arts and culture transcends boundaries of race, color, creed and geographies, uniting people throughout the world in a spirit that embodies the essence of the music and lyrics of the Hon. Robert Nesta Marley, OM. This year, the four Caribbean Prime Ministers will be presented with the Legacy Awards.

Dr. Edison O. Jackson, former President of Medgar Evers College, CUNY for two decades, will be presented with the Foundation’s Special Award while Air Jamaica and TCW will receive the Corporate Award. Dr. Edison O. Jackson is being honored for his exemplary leadership and innovation in the field of education.

The 2010 Luminary Award recipients include Lowell Hawthorne, Earl Jarrett, Lesly Kernisant, M.D. and R “Danny” Williams while the Vice Chancellor Achievement awardees comprise Sybil Chester, Karlene ChinQuee, M.D., Maxine Griffith and Janet Rollé.

Usain Bolt

Usain Bolt, Jamaica’s Triple Olympic and World Athletic Champion will be presented with a special award by the Foundation in honor of his record-breaking performance in the recent Olympics and World Championships.

My9 Anchor Brenda Blackmon, CNN Entertainment Correspondent Lola Ogunnaike and WCBS News Anchor Maurice Dubois, all of whom have generously agreed to donate their talent in support of the Foundation’s effort to secure funds for scholarships and grants for needy students of the University of the West Indies, will host the black tie gala.

A silent auction included in the evening’s program and will feature items donated by local businesses and members of the public.

Tickets for the benefit are available for purchase at a cost $2,500, $1,000 and $500 per person. Purchases may be made at the AFUWI in New York City by calling 212-759-9345. Corporate packages are also available.

For information about donating to the Foundation, please log on to http://www.afuwievents.org

Related Articles

Back to top button