Jamaican, Dr. Alwyn Leiba Installed as President of Florida Dental Hygienists’ Assoc.

Jamaican, Dr. Alwyn Leiba Installed as First President of Florida Dental Hygienists' Assoc.
Dr. Alwyn Leba, President of the Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association

TALLAHASSEE The Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association (FDHA) installed Alwyn Leiba, CRDH, Ph.D., of Pembroke Pines, Florida, as the association’s 2018-19 president, along with FDHA’s new slate of officers for the upcoming year.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve our association toward the next level of achievement,” said Dr. Leiba. “I want to collaborate with other organizations to improve access to oral care for the citizens of Florida.”

Dr. Leiba made history as the first African American (Jamaican) male president of Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association (FDHA) in 92 years and the recipient of the “2016 FDHA Swann D. Knowles Achievement Award”. He also serves as a board member for Mister RDH an organization that empowers male hygienist.

Dr. Leiba has served the Association in a wide range of positions, including most recently as president-elect of FDHA, a member of the board trustees and several committees. He also served his component South Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association in numerous leadership roles.

Dr. Leiba holds an AS degree in dental hygiene from Miami Dade College, a BS degree in dental hygiene from Saint Petersburg College, an MBA degree from American Intercontinental University in Georgia and a PhD degree in Higher Education Leadership from Northcentral University in Arizona.

Dr. Leiba currently works as the Chairperson in the School of Health Sciences at Miami Dade College and previously as an Associate Professor in the Dental Hygiene Program at Miami Dade College.

Dr. Leiba succeeds Sue Kassoff-Correia, CRDH, BS, of Boca Raton, Florida, as president. Kassoff-Correia will remain on the Board of Trustees serving both as FDHA immediate past-president and board of dentistry liaison.

Additional FDHA officers newly installed at the FDHA’s House of Delegates Meeting
  • Robin Poole, RDH, MA, of Altamonte Springs, Florida, as president-elect;
  • Gloria Shibuya, CRDH, of Coconut Creek, Florida, as vice president;
  • Katelynn Leakey, CRDH, of Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, as secretary
  • Ana Mulett, CRDH, BASDH, of Miami, Florida, as treasurer
  • Pamela Ridilla, CRDH, MS, of Port Orange, Florida, as speaker of the house.
The newly installed district trustees for 2018-2019
  • Tarah Grauer, MHA, BASDH, of Stuart, Florida, Atlantic Coast (Glades, Hendry, Highlands, Martin, Okeechobee, Palm Beach and St. Lucie counties);
  • Amanda Hunt, CRDH, of Palm Bay, Florida, Central (Alachua, Brevard, Citrus, Dixie, Gilchrist, Indian River, Lake, Levy, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia counties);
  • Cynthia Wampler, CRDH, MS, of Neptune Beach, Florida, Northeast (Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Duval, Flagler, Hamilton, Lafayette, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwanee, and Union counties);
District trustees returning in 2018-2019 
  • Terri Beck, RDH, BS, of Tallahassee, Florida, Northwest (Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Taylor, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington counties);
  • Maria Larios, CRDH, BASDH, of Miami, Florida, South Florida (Broward, Collier, Miami-Dade, and Monroe counties);
  • Joleyn Carriveau, RDH, BS, PDHC, of Bradenton, Florida, West Coast (Charlotte, DeSoto, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Sarasota counties)

South Florida Caribbean News

The Team provides news and information for the Caribbean-American community in South Florida and beyond.

Related Articles

Back to top button