New Presidents of Haiti and Suriname and Prime Minister of Barbados and Premier of Bermuda to attend upcoming CARICOM Heads Meeting

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – The Thirty-Second Regular Meeting of Caribbean Heads of Government in St. Kitts and Nevis next month will welcome new leaders in the region.

The Opening Ceremony on June 30th will see and hear from the new President of Haiti, His Excellency Michel Martelly; the new President of Suriname, His Excellency Desi Bouterse and the new Prime Minister of Barbados, the Hon. Freundel Stuart during the Opening Ceremony in the Cecil Jacobs Auditorium at the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB).

Haiti’s President His Excellency Michel Martelly

The Basseterre meeting will welcome the re-election of the Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr. the Hon. Ralph Gonsalves, who will also speak at the opening ceremony.

Also speaking will be Bermuda’s new Premier, the Hon. Pamela Cox.

Premier of Bermuda, Hon. Pamela Cox

Acting Secretary General of the Caribbean Community, Her Excellency Ambassador Lolita Applewhaite; Outgoing Chairman of the Conference of the Heads of Government, the Prime Minister of Grenada, the Hon. Tillman Thomas and the Incoming Chairman, the Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, the Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas will also speak at the opening ceremony on June 30th.

Also attending the Opening Ceremony in Basseterre, will be St. Maarten’s First Prime Minister, the Hon. Sarah Wescott-Williams.

The Plenary and Caucus sessions will be held from July 1st to 4th at the St. Kitts Marriott Resort, Frigate Bay.

Other Heads of Government of CARICOM Member States are Hon. Baldwin Spencer, Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda; The Right Hon. Hubert Ingraham, Prime Minister of The Bahamas; the Hon. Dean Barrow, Prime Minister of Belize; the Hon. Roosevelt Skerrit, Prime Minister of Dominica; His Excellency Bharrat Jagdeo, President of Guyana; Hon. Bruce Golding, Prime Minister of Jamaica; Hon. Reuben Meade, Chief Minister of Montserrat; Hon. Stephenson King, Prime Minister of St. Lucia and Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago.

Suriname’s President, His Excellency Desi Bouterse

Heads of Government of the Associate Members are the Hon. Hubert Hughes, Chief Minister of Anguilla; the Hon. Ralph T. O’Neal, Premier of the British Virgin Islands and the Hon. William McKeeva Bush, Premier of the Cayman Islands.

Prime Minister of Barbados, Hon. Freundel Stuart

Related Articles

Back to top button