Local News

Jamaican Nationals In South Florida Honored By Homeland

SOUTH FLORIDA – The South Florida Jamaican Community has been excited by the appointment of Mr. Highland Ralph “ Dobby” Dobson, OD and Dr. Vandelin “Vonnie” McGowan Arscott, OD as members of the Orders of the Societies of Honour of Jamaica in the ranks of the Order of Distinction, Officer Class, as reflected in the 2011 National Civil Honours and Awards List.

The Jamaican Consulate in Miami takes the opportunity to publicly congratulate Dr. McGowan on bringing recognition to the contribution of the Jamaican Diaspora in South Florida and beyond, and to Mr. Dobby Dobson for his contribution to the development of Jamaica’s Music.

Previously in 2009, the South Florida Community’s own cultural specialist Mrs. Norma Darby, BH (M) was recognized for her contribution to the promotion and development of Jamaica’s cultural arts overseas.

Much interest has been generated in the public process of nominating possible candidates for consideration for National Honours.

The Consulate General therefore takes the opportunity to provide these details as follows:

The process begins when Nominations are invited annually from the general public for the possible selection of persons to be considered for the conferment of National Civil Honours and Awards, in accordance with the provisions of the National Honours and Awards Act and Regulations, on Independence Day, in respect of:

Appointments to and promotions within the Orders of the Societies of Honour, in the ranks of
The Order of Merit (OM)
The Order of Jamaica (OJ)
The Order of Distinction:
in the rank of Commander (CD)
in the rank of Officer (OD)

2. Awards of the Badge of Honour
for Gallantry [BH(G)]
for Meritorious Service [BH(M)]
for long and Faithful Service [BH(L)]

The Civil Honours and Awards are conferred ceremonially by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister, and is published in the Jamaica Gazette Extraordinary and announced in the media on Independence Day.

The Forms and Guidelines specific to the year of award are circulated at the beginning of each year with nominations closing on March 31st of that same year. The completed Nomination Forms must be directed to:

The Secretary-General
Chancery of the Orders of Societies of Honour
Office of the Prime Minister
1 Devon Road
Kingston 10

Related Articles

Back to top button