Four New Directors For ICC Cricket World Cup Board

The West Indies Cricket Board Inc (WICB) has appointed four new directors to its wholly-owned subsidiary ICC Cricket World Cup WI 2007 Inc (CWC 2007).

They are Sir Royston Hopkin of Grenada, Ambassador David Shoul of Antigua & Barbuda, Mr Ken Boyea of St. Vincent & the Grenadines and Ms Jennifer Nero of St. Kitts & Nevis. The institutions with representation on the Board – CARICOM, the Caribbean Tourism Organisation and the University of the West Indies – have also been invited to reconfirm representatives in due course.

President of the WICB and Chairman of CWC 2007, Mr. Ken Gordon expressed the WICB’s appreciation for the work of all the directors and welcomed the new appointees.

“We are extremely grateful for the contributions by the entire board and extend a warm welcome to the new directors. As nationals of countries not previously represented on the CWC 2007 Board, we anticipate their important contributions as we enter the operational phase of the event.”

Mr. Gordon also thanked the CWC 2007 directors who had made their resignations available to the WICB President to facilitate the restructuring.

“Your gesture has allowed WICB to widen the participation of what was already a very strong and impressive Board and I look forward to us continuing the excellent work that has already been achieved.”

Sir Royston is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Spice Island Inn Resort and has been president of both the Caribbean Hotel Association and the Grenada Hotel Association.

Ambassador Shoul is a prominent businessman in Antigua & Barbuda and is his country’s non-resident Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China in which capacity he was instrumental in obtaining that government’s assistance in financing the construction of the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium which will be used in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007.

Mr Boyea, a businessman, is former head of the Eastern Caribbean Group of Companies one of the largest in the region and is also on the Board of Directors of the Caribbean Association of Industry and Commerce (CAIC).

Ms Nero is a senior director of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank in charge of the Internal Audit Department. A Certified Public Accountant, Ms Nero has a Masters in Information Technology and completed the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard Business School, USA.

The full CWC 2007 Board now comprises: Mr Kenneth Gordon (Chairman), Mr Owen Melhado (Deputy Chairman), Mr Christopher Dehring (Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer), Mr E. Val Banks, Mr EHC “Teddy” Griffith, Mr Stephen Camacho, Mr Allan Chastenet, Mr Kenneth Hewitt, Ambassador Julian Hunte, Dr. Claude Denbow, Mr Clifford Reis, Sir Royston Hopkin, Ambassador David Shoul, Mr Ken Boyea and Ms Jennifer Nero.

Related Articles

Back to top button