Dominica new Chair of CARICOM

Greater Georgetown, Guyana – Hon. Roosevelt Skerritt, Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Dominica assumed the Chairmanship of the Caribbean Community on 1 January 2010. He will serve in this position until 30 June 2010. The outgoing Chairman, H.E. President Bharrat Jagdeo of Guyana served from 1July-31 December 2009. The Chairmanship of CARICOM rotates among Member States every six months.

From 1 July -31 December 2010, the chairmanship goes to Haiti.

This change in chairmanship also affects the Bureau of the Conference of Heads of Government of CARICOM which comprises the current Chairman; the outgoing and incoming Chairmen and the Secretary-General.

With this rotation, the Bureau now comprises Hon. Roosevelt Skerritt Prime Minister of Dominica; H.E. Bharrat Jagdeo, President of Guyana, H.E. Rene Preval, President of Haiti, and H.E. Edwin W. Carrington, CARICOM Secretary-General.

Hon. Roosevelt Skerritt

The Bureau of the Conference of Heads of Government of CARICOM initiates proposals for development and approval by the Ministerial Councils; updates the consensus of the Member States on issues to be determined by the Conference, facilitates implementation of Community decisions, and provides guidance to the CARICOM Secretariat on policy issues.

Related Articles

Back to top button