17 North Parade Releases ‘Dennis Brown: The Crown Prince Of Reggae – Singles (1972-1985)

MIRAMAR – The legend of Dennis Brown lives on as a three-disc compilation of his hit singles, aptly titled The Crown Prince of Reggae – Singles (1972-1985), will be reissued by 17 North Parade, a VP Records imprint, on November 16, 2010.

Selected as one of National Public Radio’s ’50 Great Voices’ in 2010, Brown is the archetype of reggae vocalists and his unique, soulful sound has earned him legions of fans during his lifetime, including Bob Marley, who rated Brown as his favorite singer. Even with his premature passing in July 1997 at age 42, Brown’s music continues to live on in the dancehalls and on radio today.

This collection of Dennis Brown hits from 1972 to 1985 will give Brown buffs a broader view of the legend than any previous compilations of his work. Featuring anthems such as “Revolution” and “Promised Land” to lesser-known but no less compelling works like “Satisfaction Feeling” and the gritty musical ultimatum “Praise Without Raise,” this playlist is bound to satisfy long-time enthusiasts as well as new seekers of the iconic musician.

The bonus DVD sees Dennis Brown live in concert, backed by Lloyd Parks and We the People Band, in a 1979 performance m at the Montreux Jazz Festival – the best-known music festival in Switzerland and one of the most prestigious in Europe. It also includes seven additional hits that are not included on the audio discs.

17 North Parade brings you these 47 Dennis Brown hits in one deluxe collector’s package, which includes liner notes from journalist Carter Van Pelt, in a fitting tribute to this iconic artist.

1. Musical Heatwave

2. Let Me Down Easy

3. Concentration

4. Silhouettes

5. Don’t You Cry

6. What About The Half

7. Let Love In

8. Black Magic Woman

9. Song My Mother Used To Sing

10. At The Foot Of The Mountain

11. To The Foundation

12. Satisfaction Feeling

13. Created By The Father

14. Troubled World

15. A Cup Of Tea

16. Want To Be No General

17. Praise Without Raise

18. Rocking Time

19. Promised Land (Extended Mix)

20. Breaking Down The Barrier

1. Rub A Dub Time

2. I Am The Conqueror

3. No More Will I Roam

4. So Long Rastafari Calling

5. Voice of My Father

6. Tribulation

7. Have No Fear

8. Whip Them Jah

9. Children Of Israel (12″ mix)

10. Ghetto Girl

11. I Hope We Get To Love In Time

12. Equal Rights

13. Words Of Wisdom

14. Your Love Gotta Hold On Me

15. Love Has Found Its Way

16. Halfway Up, Halfway Down

17. The Prophet Rides Again

18. Love Light

19. Revolution

20. Rebel With A Cause Ft. Jackie Mittoo



With Lloyd Parks & We The People

1. So Jah Say

2. Wolves & Leopards

3. Ain’t That Lovin’ You

4. Words Of Wisdom

5. The Drifter

6. Milk And Honey

7. Don’t Feel No Way

8. Money In My Pocket

Related Articles

Back to top button